135. IT’S A TOMBOY WORLD

Recently I was asked to don a saree for an upcoming family wedding and I was vehemently protesting.

Not because I think I’m too Westernised to wear one but more surprised that my family members even broached the subject with me seeing how I’m the odd tomboy in the family.

Being feminine and wearing feminine clothes are not my thing. It doesn’t reflect the kind of person I am inside and seeing how I’ve never been one of those hot, drop-dead bikini or sundress, frilly, pastel shaded high heeled types to walk the sphere of the female Universe, I can understand how women out there, like me, must be thinking of ways they can retain and acknowledge both the male or female sides of their personality through their fashion sense.

It’s also probably because I hate being categorised and straddling both worlds seem to be comfortable to me knowing that there are times when I can be aggressive, competitive and finding a need to retreat to my cave on occassion like most guys and yet have the nurturing, sensitive emotions and thoughts that women have.

Yes, if, like me, you are one of those fortunate Chex Mix tomboy gals who just never grew out of their jeans and Converse shoes get ups, then here are some tips for ya.

1. Assess Your Body Type

Unless you’re blessed with a ‘ Type A’ great body like Jennifer Aniston or Megan Fox, most of us ‘Type B’s’  just can’t seem to get away with anything. Believe me I’ve tried. It’s either you’ve got short legs, long hands, a stumpy neck, bad posture, small boobs or just plain rhino hips and thick waists. If you fall into the latter category, then first thing you gotta do is acknowledge who you are physically. Appreciate your flaws and then get to know just what body type you fall into. This helps tremendously in knowing just what types of clothes would suit you because not all will make you look like Giselle on FHM. Instead if you are tomboyish and slightly andro, bump up the mystery ala top model sensation Lara Stone who moves magazine covers all over the world au blonde and naturele.

2. Personality Assessment

Are you a basic black and whites kinda person or a splashy United Colours of Bennetton kinda gal? Either way, find colours that suit your character and personality. I personally swerve a lot to blacks and whites but on occasion, I do make space in my fashion world to waltz towards greys, yellows and beige.

3. Shop at the Men’s section

That’s right. You heard me ladies! Especially for tees, shoes, hats, accessories and vests -This is especially so if you appreciate great tailoring and well-cut clothing which hang nicely off you. Inspired by my personal style icons, comedian Noel Fielding and music artiste, La Roux, I’ve been seen and caught dead at many a men’s section of popular fashion outlets like Topman, Forever 21 and H&M. ESPECIALLY Topman. It’s ironic that as a member, I’m sent more e-mails about their menswear lineup than ladieswear. So why do I hang out at the boys room so much? Well, simply because it’s cooler to do so. Just look at the range of menswear these days. Graffiit tees, fedora hats, ties and suspenders fit for any zoot suit or stylish chinos and vests – I mean, the world’s your lapel baby! What’s more, these threads spell comfort and cut more than anything and for me, that’s a plus and don’t worry if you look like a gay guy. What’s more important is that you establish your own identity with loads of breathing room for gravity to work on that paunch of yours. It’s a win-win situation all round!

4. Makeup

Attaining true androgyny or cool tomboy looks requires some great warpaint. Yes, I’d figured you anti-makeup people might just get up and walk right out of this article when I said that but you know deep down inside you love a little colour in your world, don’t you? I mean the aim of your life is to confuse the masses since you’re confused about yourself anyway so what better way to do that than to dab a little powder and blush to achieve the look. All good makeup brands carry a decent enough range of colours and hues to accomplish any look with but my advise – stay low key on the theatrics and aim for more golds, whites, blacks and greys. Smoulder the eyes ever so lightly and keep lips neutral or light red, if you must.

5. Short Hair

You must crop your top to stay in the tomboy business, I’m afraid. It is one of the unspoken ground rules. Only that way does your tomboy appeal manifest a hundredfold. Whether it’s pixie, glam, punk, coif, shag, pageboy or bob, short hair makes you stand out from the rest of the herd. Couple that with styling mousse and wax and you’re well into your way to personal iconoclasm.

If you’re into tomboy lifestyles, here’s a classy place to visit.

http://tomboystyle.blogspot.com/

It gives you ideas on how to do tomboy in a classic, tasteful and even sexy way.

Now THAT”S hot!

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on September 24, 2011, in Personal, Social & Society and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I hope other people think your write-up right here as helpful as I have. I manage a blog site myself and would be very happy for you or the guests on your own web site to check out. Please go ahead and look through my website just like I have with your own and leave a remark or two if you discover anything interesting. Thanks again.

  2. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    • thanks amazing weathervane – I never thought about donations. hmmmm….:) looking forward to interacting with you on this site and keep reading. i try to be as insightful and witty in my posts. cheers!

Leave a Reply

