109. TWO-OH-TEN REFLECTIONS

December has once again snuck up on us and it’s at this time when everyone’s feeling rushed to get their X’mas shopping and preparations done.

Being a non-Christian though, fortunately, I am taken out of this equation although I still am not released from my yearly obligations of sending out those good ole cheery red greeting cards.

This year though, I felt, went by like a whizz without me getting a chance to catch my breath. And now with some of my TV projects rounded up (at least for now), I’m getting a chance to slow down a tad and take stock of my life in 2010.

I’m grateful for a lot of things in 2010 but one of the things I’m most grateful for is that I’m here now, safe with a roof over my head and a full belly.

I know a lot of people out there don’t even have this and that is something I’m continuously hoping will be a problem that is addressed more intensely in the year or years to come.

That everyone gets their basic needs met.

A lot of our happy moments come from being able to have a meal, have a place to bathe or shower and have a comfortable bed to rest in.

However, unfortunately, a lot of us take these things for granted. We think these things just appear and we’re so caught up in our fast lives that we forget to take a step back to see things with an eagle eye’s view.

And that’s just the resolution I’m making for myself.

While everyone else does the ‘I wanna lose weight’ or ‘Quit smoking’ resolutions, I’ve decided to go against the grain and simply step back – to be more aware of situations, things and people and of course to appreciate the ‘littler’ things in life which make our world unique.

I will continue to observe the leaf as it falls from the trees, watch the ant busy looking for food, enjoy the pleasures of biting into a cheesecake and delighting myself in the various aromas wafting out of a street cafe.

Simple but totally aware.

Have a great and very conscious 2011. May there be unlimited amounts of wisdom out there for you.

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on December 19, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

