105. SHOULD I STAY OR SHOULD I GO?

The Clash came out with this tune back in the 80s to describe a person’s inner dilemma as to whether he/she should stay put in a broken down relationship or to find his/her’s new partner in Life.

Sad to say, this has been my mantra the last few months at my workplace for isn’t the workplace a place where working relationships with one’s peers and bosses does also matter in the workflow?

Not to criticise my company or anything – they function like any MNC whose main goal is to stay clearly in the black as best they can. That basically means squeezing out as much blood as they can from their employees 🙂 But I’m above that now.

Problems with your boss can lead to career frustration....

What bothers me now is my direct working relationship with a boss who has no appreciation for me or my work, frequent criticisms of what I did wrong rather than what I did right and having absolutely no rapport with a tight-lipped, inhibited man who seems friendlier to subordinates and peers in other departments than his own team. Let’s not even talk about the thick walls of silence that pervade most of our departmental lunches.

He inspires none, neither is he helpful to me and my colleague in the same department during times of crisis nor is he willing to understand our predicaments at the workplace. All he does is sit there and spends time licking his boss’s ass, while finding ways to demoralise us.

So correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t that unhealthy for the rest of the team members? It doesn’t only place undue stress on them but it clearly undermines the faith of the team to to do better.

Clearly, the answer is a resounding yes!

But of course, most of life’s choices come in varying shades of grey which is why I’m conflicted at the moment.

The conflict arises because on the whole the company does treat it’s employees with respect, valuing the efforts made by everyone working there. This is manifested in its generous leave and health insurance benefits, not to mention half-year and end of year bonuses as well as it efforts to encourage people to eat healthy with fruit vending machines, fruit deliveries every Tuesday and Thursday etc etc.

I admire that in this company.

The other thing that I like about it is all the friendly folk I’ve gotten to know over the years since I joined the place. Everyone’s supportive of each other and most of my other peers in other department seem to have understanding bosses that go out drinking with them frequently and have a great rapport with them. All except me and my fellow departmental colleague. All he cares about is looking good in front of his boss, rarely giving out praise but quick in finding fault.

We seem to be creating miracles in the department (i.e. executing big jobs at peanut budgets with some production value), taking up slack from other departments and yet we’re Public Enemy No. 1.

Being in a sandwiched role like this requires a boss that can stand up for the department to ensure things go smoothly for us but instead we pretty much find ourselves functioning separately from him. It’s like he’s in charge of us but doesn’t really want to be in charge?

And this is very typical of Asian bosses, I’m afraid. There’s no ‘lurve’ in the workplace. It’s a mentality that screams ‘I pay you therefore I am entitled to make your life a misery. Now stop whining and get back to work!’

And I’m afraid that I don’t function very well in this type of environment. It has made me more disengaged from my duties as I believe that no matter what I do, there doesn’t seem to be a point to it at all.

TV and film production is a hard business. heck, most creative industries are. There’s no glamour in the job, so the least a person needs to keep him/her going is 1. some support and 2. words of appreciation for a job well done or a job done. Simple as that.

I need to know that I’m a valued subordinate who is part of a team and I need to be encouraged and most of all MOTIVATED to continue doing what I’m doing and truth be told, I ain’t gettin’ it. All I’m gettin’ is negative vibes. I’m actually amazed that I’ve endured it for this long really, especially here in Singapore where the work culture is utterly brutal.

Hence my inner dilemma: “Should I stay or should I go?”

What do you think?

You can post your votes on my FB page under Persis ‘Jellyfarm’ Shanker or the poll attached.

Your opinions and advise count! 🙂

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on November 4, 2010, in Job and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. what if u request for a transfer to another dept ? and work under a different boss?at least you get to still work in the company , since it does provide good benefits ..

Leave a Reply

