78. THE DARKEST EARTH HOUR

Can our beloved Mother Earth survive it’s darkest hour?

Yes, and it has several ‘ga-billion’ times before and I’m not talking about the much touted Earth Hour which is hitting all lightbulbs in your vicinity, Saturday the 27th of March 2010.

Think Dinosaur Age, the Ice Age etc

So while our planet has had a pretty impressive survival track record and hence why I’m passionate about saving it from the irksome consequences of the greed of mankind, I’m also wee critical about the true effects of this global campaign.

For example, will turning your lights off for an hour a year really make a difference?

And what about the rest of the 364.9 days when the lights are turned on somewhere around the world?

See what I mean?

OK, and here’s where I get darker than the black hole because my next question is; How much money is being spent on this campaign in the first place?

I mean pimping and beefing this campaign up to its almost iconic status today isn’t free.

Acquiring media airtime and printspace, producing the posters and spreading the word must cost the WWF some serious dough so who’s coughing up and if so, where are they getting their ‘chachings’ from?

Coz it would be way too ironic if these people were CEOs or owners of smoke-choking, energy-sucking industries.

But heck, what am I blabbing about when I already KNOW it’s probably some hot shot CEO or celeb funding this whole campaign.

One thing I must say about it though, is that it certainly brings a new, ahem, excuse the pun-light to this whole global campaign.

The fact that more people are eager to jump the bandwagon to do their part for the Earth (well at least that’s what I’ve been hearing and seeing from people lately), is quite a commendable thing.

The positive energy behind all the corporate and public support is also another laudable effort.

It’s actually quite heartening to see how everyone’s so eager to spread the word amongst friends, colleagues and family.

But as for me, I don’t really give a rat’s hiney about Earth Hour or as I fondly call it ‘The Great Big Blackout’.

I have and will keep continue to remain committed to using less, consuming less, switching off all lights and electrical items I use when I don’t need it and of course recycle on a regular basis the best I can – as part of wanting to live a more conscientious and healthy lifestyle 24-7, not just for an hour a year.

So have a great Earth Hour tomorrow and make sure you make it count beyond just that.

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on March 26, 2010, in Environment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

