69. AUNT FLO’S VISITS

PERIODS ARE A PAIN! Literally!!

You’d think that after experiencing the one thing that reminds me I’m a lady for 24 years, that it’s something that one gets accustomed to, but noooo, it still has me groaning and moaning in foetal position almost every month.

And yesterday was one such horrible experience where I was literally down the whole day. It didn’t help that on some occasions, I’ve been having fevers, chills just before my menses arrive so yea, talk about a double whammy!

So what did I do? Pump myself full of Vit E pills and 2 aspirins and knocked myself out like a fused lightbulb.

And I did the same this morning.

So far, so good.

However, I never have made this a practise because I don’t want to rely on pain relievers to do the job but in yesterday’s emergency blood crisis, I guess I had to.

Interestingly enough, as I was trudging through some medical websites about this subject, I found that some girls take an aspiring right before their periods because apparently, it hinder the prostoglandins from being secreted.

These chemicals are the ones responsible for the cramping.

The other thing that could be wrong with me is that I could be having endometriosis. I haven’t had it checked out yet coz I hate going to see doctors, but if it gets worse or just as bad as it did this month, I’m going to have to surrender and really consult an OB/GYN.

As for the recurring fevers and chills, another interesting byte of information that came my way was that apparently, a woman’s hormonal changes during the monthly cycle changes just before one’s period. And when that happens, body temperature goes up. When that happens, a woman could develop flu-like symptoms and slight chills.

And that could be true in my case because while I don’t get fevers or flu symptoms every month, I have noticed that when I did get sick, it was always normally around my time of the month.

Isn’t that crazy?

Wow! No wonder I feel like a smashed log both physically and mentally during when ‘Aunt Flo’ arrives and it annoys the hell out of me because I hate sitting in bed and being useless. I am after all a create-a-holic.

But I guess this is Mother Nature’s way of giving me a monthly break to get me to rest up and take it easy.

What do you think?

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on February 28, 2010, in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

