65. MIAF (Missing in Action Friends)

Missing in action friends or MIAF as I like to call ’em. Here today, gone today.

I’m writing this coz I’m peeved with 2 psychologically unstable gal ‘pals’ I met in the course of the last 2 years.

Without going into too much detail, one of them got offended when I mentioned how my mother was unlike her mother who had recently died when she was the one that asked me in the first place what was troubling me about my mother. She then took offence at that remark n was never seen or heard of again.

The other one, who also had personal problems, disappeared when I didn’t buy vodka for her from the duty free shop when I returned from India recently n didn’t want to return her SMSes because after endless hours consoling her and allowing her to dump her less than stellar energy fields on me, I realized that I couldn’t do anything more as a friend for her unless she helps herself.

And since I have been having my own health and personal issues to deal with, having someone who expects you to be their constant shoulder to cry on was a little demanding and draining for me.

I needed time out from this ‘thing’.

I’ve gone thru the entire gamut of these type of friends and frankly, I’m weary n tired of playing with these people whom you have done much for and offered straightforward friendship. They expect you to be peachy keen everyday and to ‘entertain’ them emotionally when they need your company or want to dump problems on you, but at the first sign of you having a bad day or being not in the mood to play friend, they go sayonara.

Anywhoo, I guess I’ll be seeing more of these fairweather friends in the future. Maybe I will have something to learn from these folk……

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on January 7, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. ole fellow pisces, i agree,…i dont mind some of them going for a quality hermit tiime, but some just really pops out only whenever they need something or if there is a celebration….

Leave a Reply

