58. THE GREAT STREAMLINING EXERCISE

shirtntieA former work acquaintance on Facebook recently wrote a note about de-cluttering her room and I commented on how I’ve been in the last few months doing the same thing; streamlining Life.

And it’s not just reorganising, rearranging and getting rid of the material stuff you don’t need – it’s also symbolically emptying yourself out.

Yea, it’s an exercise in detoxifying your lives.

Hey, even those fanatically obsessed feng-shui practicioners advise throwing out all your old stuff regularly coz they carry old energies.

And that’s true, you don’t want dark Sith forces lounging about your lounge pad do ya?

De-cluttering is therapeutic.

You would not believe how I’ve got my regular shoes all thrown in a box while all my special occassion heels sit nicely tucked away in my cupboard, ALL LABELLED. 

Yeup! If no one stops me, I’ll be bringing the bloody Dewey Decimal System into my collection of books! I’m THAT obsessed about organising.

My stationary and art stuff are all organised nicely on my desk, all ready to be used, like soldiers on the alert. Markers go in one tumbler, colour pencils another, regular pens in yet another holder.

Developed photographs and film go in one box. 

Cards and letters sent by friends over the years go in another box. CDs go into various CD holders while clothes in my wardrobe are arrange according to short and long sleeves, and later subcategorised into blouses, tees and winter wear.

Stuff that I throw out is duly donated to charities or given away to our domestic help when she feels she wants some of the stuff.

And now, in the midst of a great personal upheaval in my Life, I’m looking to streamline my Life even more, sticking to only the most doggone important essentials.

Besides, for me, I don’t need much personally. A roof over my head, a pillow (no need for bed or mattress, I can sleep on the floor, really), some food n clothing, soap n water, a laptop and public transportation is really all I need to survive.

I’ll save money and get to empty all the unwanted stuff that carries old energy in my Life at the same time. 

And speaking of which, I’ve read this fascinating article twice since I first came across it. A man in Utah, who has essentially learnt how to live without money. Read it. It’ll open your eyes.

http://men.style.com/details/features/landing?id=content_9817

especially like what he says about the role of money in our lives.

Trust me, you’re going to hear great church bells going off in your head after you read what money really is.

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on August 9, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

