44. WACKY FABULOUS

Untitled-Scanned-06I’m tethering at the end of another routine weekend where I blog and ask myself just one of many intestine-distending questions about this joke I know called Life.

And that million dollar question is “Are creative women eccentric?”.

Well, first of all, what does society think about the definition of eccentric?

I don’t personally know because I’d have to take a time-wasting survey to find out or shove another presumptuous poll down my reader’s throat, both of which seem quite an arduous task at the moment. 

So let me take a leaf from the tree of personal experience.

To me, it encompasses a number of characteristics or behavioral patterns that are deviant and do not succumb to the norms of what is rule in a community, population or nation.

It’s the Luna Lovegood quirk that spits itself out as an uncomfortable dinner party remark or the odd behavioral compulsion to think out loud in a public space where the nearest object is a traffic light stop.

It could be the need to wear an odd haircolour that’s accessorised with a pair of sci-fi robotic shoes.

Who knows?

As long as it’s out of the norm, it can turn out to be an eccentricity.

So now I ask myself another brain-crunching question.

Am I eccentric? 

Do I, in my regular cranky temper tantrums and self-isolationist single woman at 36 with quirky odd humour and rather humongous mouth that spews the odd uncomfortable truth every now and then, display qualities of an eccentric ‘wrackspurt’?

Surprisingly enough, perhaps I do.

And I’m not eccentric because I told myself this mind story.

I genuinely think that the journey of my life has inevitably led me here. In ‘la-la’ land, so to speak.

This is probably because I sustain a very childlike playfulness within a grown up woman’s body and nothing I don’t have passion for is taken with a serious pinch of salt.

Strange quirks that have developed over the years include:

1. Cursing out in public at rude, uncouth strangers

2. Thinking out loud in places where thinking out loud is not encouraged

3. Making up ridiculous jokes/comments on and offline and people wondering what on earth I’m on about because of my mischievous sense of humour. Yes, I’ve mostly kept it ridiculously hidden in stuffy, sterile Singapore because a) most don’t get it and b) they just don’t even attempt to get it. 

4. Spending hours at a time in my head developing weird ideas for later expression and maintaining man in cave behaviour.

5. Self-isolation and maintaining hours at a time without speaking or seeking the company of others. Not interested. ESPECIALLY if people drain me of my energy.

6. If there are houserules, I find myself not wanting to obey it and openly rebel, usually telling them to get lost and get stuffed. If not it will be silent rebellion. I’d just not do something on time or even care to please people.

7. Intense curiosity. Childlike, I have a nose to sniff out anything I can. Whether it’s about cultures, people, gossip. I have a need to know.

8. Opinionated and outspoken. Geez, do I HAVE to explain this? I think the posts in this blog are enough evidence.

9. I am single! And happy!!! Whooohooo!

10. I am an only child and have many imaginary friends. In fact, 2 of them are helping me type up this blog. One’s ambidextrous and the other is slightly dyslexic but together, they make up one helluva typing combo! 😛

So yea, the above characteristics are just some of the status symbols you probably need to classify yourself as eccentric.

But I do believe that women (or men) who seem to have all these jolly ideas in their heads are happiest when they are playing around in those ideas, where they seem to have unending funtimes as opposed to mingling around with experiences in real time. Get what I mean?

It’s like being practical and serious is bollocky boring whilst imagining fantasy sword fights with a robot dangling from one of Planet Saturn’s many rings is highly desirable and dreamy. 

It’s that kinda thinking that spurts us to new heights and how on earth regular people with regular lives, living in regular places, wearing regular clothes with regular experiences confounds us. 

I just don’t know how you do it! 

Really.

Wearing regular life’s pants would totally give me instant urinary infection. 

And again, perhaps it is a matter of choice coupled with experiences and even natural abilities. This includes creativity in whatever field.

Creativity has produced geniuses and/or ‘cranks’. Either way, a dash of the whimsical and quirky has made for great fodder amongst societies around the world for centuries now.

Downright odd mental compulsions and obsessiveness, in an effort to gain attention or even lack thereof are not strangers in the world of an eccentric. In fact, they are common. 

Ewwww! Common. A word despised by eccentrics period.

And that’s probably why the regular joe on the streets have an eternal love/hate fascination with the quirky janes. It’s the realisation that fearlessness is the name of the game but how many people are willing to give up on fear? To throw it to the dogs and just see no categories once and for all?

Strangely enough. Very few.

And that’s why women and eccentric women at that are compartmentalized. We’re seen as strange creatures of the gender. 

But then again, I wouldn’t put us in a box coz that box will be stretched and torn to bits in no time.  

I’d rather you take that box and bring it over to recycling. They’d do a much better job. 😛

Diva eccentric fabulosity. Here I come!!

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on July 19, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

