35. FEMININITY – WORD FROM THE STREETS 2

lipstickMore responses!

“Femininity changes. Just like a woman, it grows and ages in different directions. For me, it compasses images of Degas’ light-pink ballerinas with strong sturdy back muscles and thick calves, or round shapes in jeans and Doc Martins for contrast. It smells like clean hair, feels like soft skin and has sweat that smells different from a man’s.” Roison, USA


“Femininity. The reeling in our stomache when we have to hear the sobs from someone we break up with. Note to males: Make ’em mad when you dump- both parties will feel relieved that the relationship is over.” Maelific Bone, USA

 

“Personally, for me it is an air, a sense of one’s soul expressing itself, and oneself, in a special manner. Touch, smell, voice. So if I were blind, I believe I could still feel a female energy around me if the person is feminine (yes and it could be a guy as well).

That being said, I think everyone has a feminine side to them and it could come out as shy, caring, maternal, flirtatious or playful. Nurturing or manipulative. I can’t be sure…” Gillian, Singapore

 

“Femininity — i think ellen degenerous, michelle obama, carla bruni…strong soft, imperfect, beautiful.”  May, Toronto

 

“Femininity:

You cannot have your cake and eat it.

Feminists work to remove obstacles, ceilings. Get protection and you become a sexist. That makes you no different from the evil male.

I treat cute girls well. That makes me a MCP because i want to protect them as I feel (not think) they are weaker and need my protection.

Equality means getting punched in the nose equally hard.

In a equal world, there are no gentlemen or ladies, just mutually respected opponents. Anyone weak is bantha fooder.

I once treated males and female equally. That night, 9 females and 4 males got sent to hospital. And I got blacklisted.

From my ex. (Adult and Offensive, but funny)

For a equal sexual relationship, both partners should try getting penetrated anally. That’s the only hole both have.” 

Lincoln, Singapore

 

And there you have it! Some of the wise and wise-crack responses to femininity. 

What I did gather from the responses is that femininity is a wide-encompassing thing. It’s as if it’s a gender that has swallowed up all the aspects of humanity – it’s worst and most evil, as well as it’s lovely and most graceful.

But that leaves me wondering what masculinity is all about then.

Reason being is, a lot of times, males and females have been seen as complements to each other. Yin and yang. Night and Day. Toast and scrambled eggs.

But with modernity and the new computer age, it looks like our brains are going through a transgendered metamorphosis. I still think that females have easily adopted strong male attitudes and behaviours to achieve a sense of equality. However, let me reiterate that this could just only be women adopting strong female energies.

Perhaps never before than now are females being asked to step up to the plate and prove what their sistas have been fighting for all along. Equality and respect.

And if you notice, men (well Western men) are preferring women who are independent and are emotionally strong to be their friends or partners. But this again is subjective to the man himself as well as the woman.

For me, personally being feminine (as is being masculine) is just loving yourself for who you are. I’m not the sexiest cutest chick on the block and I don’t fall into the girly category of being a sex kitten. I don’t crave sex or need to be with a man that much because I dunno. I find just being with me, spending time with me, on my own terms, is enough. I enjoy my fuss-free life having enough responsibilities to my folks and my job and at this point, I just seem full.  

Obviously, I’m well aware I’m the odd one out and actually I don’t mind because I guess it’s just the creative part of me that really is 100% of me.

I don’t claim to be a woman or a man. I’m a bit of both coz at the end of the day, I just mostly feel like a person.

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on June 28, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

