33. FEMININITY – WORD FROM THE STREETS 1

ladyshoeI asked some of my most favourite peeps out there what they thought of femininity and I’ve had some pretty good responses so here are extracts of some of them and appear in no particular favourite order because they all make some sense to me.

 

“To me it is me. I am not traditionaly feminine and care not a jot. I look poo in a dress and make up makes me look like I am wearing a mask. Being feminine is being happy in your skin regardless of the lumps and bumps.” Morag, 40s, Scotland.

 

“.. to me, that word conjures up images of softness, elegance, demureness, pink and purple and lacy things, and generally, a gentle and yielding hand. That’s just the word itself and the association in my mind. It’s not all I think femininity should be though, and there is that militant ”feminism” side of it too. But what I think femininity ”should” be and what it seems to be in reality, are two different things.” Minnie, 20s, Ireland

 

“I don’t burn my bra & I don’t have short hair because I’m trying to prove any point. I not in an exclusive relationship because I am exclusive only to myself. I am not a mantra chanter or movement whore. Yet plenty of women & men would call me feminist….too strong to handle, far too independent…That’s really their perception – it isn’t my reality.” Maddy, 30s, Australia

 

“How about manicured nails that sometimes chip, chipped teeth that often look charming, garlic that keeps the heart ticking (even if it does nothing for the breath), stilettos with a side of kick ass, and hello kitty stickers- um I have nothing to say about this phenomenon, except, vive la difference (and bloody grow up: collect cards of naked men or something). Cause women are neither two three or four dimensional. And neither is femininity.” Anita, 30s, Singapore

 

Lovin’ the vibe I’m getting off these ladies and hope to see more views come in!

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on June 20, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. being comfortable in my own skin? not giving two hoots when i’ve got to go for meeting and i’m the only one without makeup and manicured nails but feel confident all the same? frumpy in my poloar fleece but thinking that i’m charming all the same?! 🙂

  2. to have your own set of balls and still wear a skirt

Leave a Reply

