31.FASHION MUSING

shirtntieOK, y’all been asking for me to put up some of me feminine moments up here in picture format but it may take another decadent weekend to update on that so let’s start with a simple IOU list of those pictures, shall we?

1. Topshop Skinnies (Officially splurged on 2 weekends ago)

2. Topshop Tee-shirt (a Batman T-shirt from the guys section – no wait, that’s not feminine. Damn!) Scratched out.

3. Dorothy Perkins London Tees (Ya know the new punk-assed long ones. Got 3 for SGD$33)

4. Esprit punk-ass tees (YES! From the ladies section)

Alright, alright. I admit that lately, I’ve been splurging (or should I say forcefully getting my wallet to throw up ala any bulimic-stricken girl does).

Why?

Well, coz I think it’s because I’m going through a fashion transformation. I’m doing a serious throwback to my late teens again. (Do I EVER grow up?  Absolutely ‘nickin not!)

Since my hair got cruelly executed in my recent French Perm Revolution, I’ve gone from gorgeous Kate Winslet/Nigella ‘Domestic-Chocolate-Syrup Laden-Finger-Goddess’ Lawson wannabe, to aneroxic Patti Smith punk groupie and I must say, the disaster is turning out quite yonkingly positive for me. 

My turf top has been given serious ‘buddy-quaintance’ approval, all at rip-roaring volumes that radio stations could explode and shut down. Uh-huh, even the seriously annoying pop-trash ones. (YAY!)

My recent weight loss has also not only allowed me to legally fit through fashion store entrances, but I am now able to confidently make purchases of the 1-digit size kind. (HURRAH!) 

Take the above and re-mix that with my ever-increasing fascination with UK comedian Noel Fielding and his Topshop fashion stylings and I’ll tell you what. Me thinks I’ve really gone quite bonkers actually. No question about it.

And why, you might ask?

Well, because unlike any other sane, estrogen-driven woman, I now claim a rather effeminate guy as my fashion icon!

So how screwed up is THAT, eh?

I repeat – Noel Fielding is my latest fashion muse. (See below)

I mean ‘Whoa!’

A guy that can match shoes, tophats, coats and accesories is definitely someone I can seek some style advise (and mousse) from.

While he probably buys some of his stuff from the ladies section, I buy mine from the guys section, so we’re even.

He’s a bisexual guy and I’m…….the one who got mixed up in the deli section.

I must admit, I’ve always been a punk rebel since I was 7, when I was first exposed to the world of punk disco, thanks to Blondie, The Police and a hairy mutt of a bachelor uncle and his partying friends who would play their album collections that blared out all night at some obscure neighbourhood in Malaysia.

After that came New Wave fascination ala The Human League, 80s David Bowie, Tears for Fears, Howard Jones, Depeche Mode and of course, Gary Numan.

Then at 18, all hell broke loose with my foray into rock n roll. 2 years down early 90s grunge, I was given a dubious cassette tape (yes, it did exist once) featuring works by The Sex Pistols, New York Dolls and the Buzzcocks.  

That brought whole new perspective on life on a new dangerous edge of thought. Plus, I’ve always had a fond affinity for truant English subcultures, whether it was the mod-heads from the 60s, the new wave movement of the 80s or the indie-Blur-post-grunge stuff. 

And having just come out of my nerd geeky phase, I guess I sensed another wave of inner fashion evolution coming on a few months ago.

So Madonna, move over, hon!

By the time I’m done, you’re going to look like an old turkey with biceps prancing about onstage. 😛

PS: Oh! And if anyone can find me a doctor’s bag like the one Noel’s carrying in the third picture above, please give me a call. I’d like one so I can play Dr Frankenstein and make Halloween house calls in my neighbourhood during power failures. 😛

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on June 18, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. go nuts for the redshoes!

  2. He reminds me a little of Willy Wonka. And that’s a good thing. Mmmm, chocolates…

Leave a Reply

