7. FAREWELL FIRE

pipeSometimes, in my search for estrogen (yeah, like it comes in a 12oz bottle right? 🙂 ) I forget that during the beginning of my intense spiritual journey a couple of years back that I discovered, at the core of my being, I am not male or female.

Instead, I am just a soul.

And during those late night meditations, when I realise I’m neither man nor woman but energy force, one of the songs that helps keep me rooted at that spiritual core is this beautiful, ethereal piece by ‘Boards of Canada’. 

Make no mistake about it. Boards of Canada (BOC) are the shit – the real thang, if you will.

Hailing from Glasgow, this electronic sound duo make music that speaks to the soul and probably the souls you were before that. 

Their music has constantly given me goosebumps and out-of-body experiences. No drugs needed. 

These trips to outer-space are very soothing especially when it is accompanied by a BOC song. This particular track by them was something I chanced on about 2 years back and is an odd number, because the music fades in real slow, gets you floating and all, before fading off for the next 4+ minutes at a volume that’s barely audible.

Only by wearing a pair of headphones can you hear the rest of the track at that volume. You’ll see what I mean in a bit…

Here is an unofficial video of the song that I managed to find on YouTube and visually, it’s quite close to what was in my head when I was meditating.’Baraca’ like time lapse sequences of pretty and vast landscapes with barely a soul for hundreds of miles.

Of course, my visuals included more snowy Antarctica ice deserts, but hey, it’s still a spiritual experience watching this.

Enjoy “Farewell Fire”….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGGVNJC7A4U

About thejellyfarm

In real life, I am a television writer and producer...er no...scratch...a television director....noo, scratch....a media loser.....wait, that doesn't sound quite insulting enough....... OK, ahem. In real life, I'm an idiot box expert with a penchant for the creative. In short, I'm a loser with no focus or direction in life. I just go where the creative flow takes me. Mostly it takes me to clogged up drains and stinky oceans but it's going.......going.....somewhere. And this blog is an expression of that mindblowing roadblock. Creative frustration is a great motivator and here is a result of that.

Posted on May 9, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

